set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Election Day +1

[2004-11-03] @ [7:10 a.m.]

I've been avoiding the subject of American politics for a while now. One of the reasons is that I can't usually take well to the flak I receive from voicing my opinion on such matters. But I've avoided it long enough...

Never before have I been so caught up in something. I never before have I been so watchful of the election for that I wasn't able to vote for because I was shy of the required year to regestier for voting. Never before I have been so concerned for my country's future. There is a lot more never before's but you get the point. The point is this election is important for me.

Even though I couldn't vote, I am going to be 18 next year. I will be at college and become one of millions of budding memebers of American society. I will "offically" be a part of this country. And whom ever is in office, if it be Kerry or Bush, both will have an important impact on my future. I think a quote from one of my favorite movies sums it up pretty well.

Everything we do in life, echoes in eternity.-Gladiator

Everything we do in life echoes in eternity. I am sure that was great on script but that simple saying has so much truth in life. Whoever is elected will make decsions that will effect things to come, very much like FDR did during the depression establishing all those New Deal programs such as social security. Bush has created a deficit. Clinton gave a good econmey and did not have sexual relations with Monica (this is back in 1998). I forget what Dubya's dad did in '91 except the Gulf War, after all I was only three or five around that time.

The electoral college right now, according to the liberal media network CNN is Bush has 254 and Kerry 252. Ohio is this election's Flordia. This is a really interesting election and I really did not want to go to bed last night because of watching the states pop up in blue and red. But I am not saying who is the winner yet because frankly I am confused a wee bit on what's going on. But according to this MSN article, Bush is the winner. I can't find anything that is reliable to tell me what is going on. I'm confused... but by the looks of things, Bush is in for a second term.

This election is just nuts! It so damn close! Just so freakin' close. They said back in 2000 that an election so close would never happen again, that it was a once in a lifetime type of thing. Look! It happened again. Never has it been so close! I am going to drive myself crazy just thinking of all the numbers.

Bah. I need to get my stuff ready for school. Happy Wenesday.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage