set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

I am unable to feel pain.

[2004-12-06] @ [6:49 p.m.]

No, I'm not depressed. Not by a long shot.

Today, during a lot of my classes, I couldn't keep in one place and my mind kept wandering here and there, here and there... I was just really bored all day, especially in Trig (but there's no surprise there). And then, I remembered an article I read one day while checking my e-mail about a girl who had anhidrosis. What is anhidrosis?

anhidrosis:
a rare genetic disorder that makes one unable to feel pain.

Now this is physical pain that I am talking about, not mental pain. Click here for full story.

Now, being the person I am, I started to think. And it got me thinking, what if all of mankind were like that. Unable to feel pain? And for my own purposes, this includes both physical and mental pain. What would we all be like? Would we all be happy about everything in life or do fatal things just for the thrill of it? Or would we be happy all the time? Too many questions and no answers is what I have come to conclude.

I certainly do not know and I probably don't want to know. After all, life is funnier when we don't know when things are going to happen. Or it can crush our hopes and dreams and still be funny to someone, somewhere in this vast and great universe that we all live in. Because life is funny that way, because I am not funny in that way. Or I can just stop making stupid comments for no reason at all.

But I have some more stuff to take care of tonight. Thank you for joining me for tonight's little ramble.

Night.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage