set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Setting Sail 2005

[2005-06-21] @ [2:49 p.m.]

Last week, my life was pretty clean cut. I knew where I was in life. I was a high school student with classes. I knew I was going to college. I knew I was going to graduate. That was how I was for the past four years, I knew where I was in life. Yet these past five days if feels like the whole world has been shaken in its foundations as I find myself stepping into the first week of the rest of my life (again).

College orientation at CNU was for the past two days and because of it, I am very tired and I am also reminded how I am facing a new chapter in life. I got my classes signed up for. I had my first real taste of college food. I slept stiffly on a bed. I got my picture ID with a really bad picture and student e-mail account. And I racked my brains trying to fight a great schedule for the Fall 2005 semester and I did.

For those who are inerested, here are the classes I ended up taking:

Elementary Italian I
-Monday, Wenesday, Friday
-12:00 to 12:50
Here is my earliest class. I've always wanted to learn Italian and I thought, well, here's my chance, so since I've taken Spainish and Latin, I should have a handle on it. Besides, it's Italian. It is better to take classes you enjoy instead ones you hate.

Cultural Anthropolgy
-Monday, Wenesday, Friday
-2:00 to 2:50
This course is anthropology, a basic comparative study of humans and the cultures they have created focusing on pre-industrial and non-Western socities. I always found society complex and interesting so, why not?

General Biology I
-Monday and Wenesday
-4:00 to 5:15
I was always better in Biology than in Chemistry and Physics. I am horrible with math. And I like learning about the natural world through science and I always though genetics were fun to miss and match. The physical world, in my opinion, is interesting instead of chemicals and properties or range of movement and equations.

World Civilization to mid 16th century
-Tuesday and Thursday
-4:00 to 5:15
History is fun and is also a requried Gen Ed. I find this particular time period to be quite interesting. But this class and the English class are back to back. That is going to be a challenge.

First Year Writing Seminar (aka English 101)
-Tuesday and Thursday
-5:30 to 6:45
I didn't pass this AP test so because of it, I get to take it again in college. It is your basic college writing class that meets Gen Ed requirments, teachs the ins and outs to writing a great paper, teaches analyzing texts for deeper meaning, and so on.

Well, that concludes class summary. Now if I could only get rid of this feeling I have that something is going to go wrong. But it can't because I double checked everything I did and such. Or can it?

And with the new layout, I've been saving this one for a while.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage