set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Va bene.

[2006-01-21] @ [10:58 p.m.]

Yesterday I was in a bit of a funk. I was homesick and I complained to my mom over the phone for about fifteen minutes about not having anything to do Friday night. I ended up playing three hours of "The Lord of the Rings: The Battle for Middle Earth," and reading some of the Iliad for one of my literature classes.

Yet today was better. I walked down along the street that intersects my school and found a 7-11 and almost died in the process. The people in New News are crazy drivers. No respect for pedestrians (for the most part). They should have big, angry bears thrown at them.

Yet I survived nonetheless. Yet then saw a friend and had coffee with her, talking about being pulled over by state troopers and accidents. Then since roommate has her boyfriend's car for the weekend, I went up to Starbucks for her and we had coffee. I had a wee bit too much coffee today yet I am a sucker for buying a cup of coffee and just talking with friends in a coffee shop. Truly. Even if it is Starbucks and I have to pay four dollars for a Grande Carmel Macchiato. It is just too addicting. Then to the gym for about an hour just to put that hour to waste by going to Disco and getting "fast food" since I didn't feel like walking a mile or across the highway of doom for the same great tasting fast food.

Now I am actually going to try and be serious about something. I know. The thought frightens me too.

Yet today was good and that is what counts. But CNN article called "Study: College students lack literacy for complex tasks".

One of the first things that irks me and the wrong use of "literacy" (at least in my opinion). To me, literacy means you the ability to read or write. There's even a dictionary entry courtesy of dictionary.com. I think that the writer of the article did it so readers would think, What? College and Grad students can't read or write?!?! or at least this is what I thought when I clicked on the article.

Turns out the article is actually about students who can't understand news stories or other types of documents and lack math skills for doing the checkbook and leaving tips. I guess that counts as different types of literacy. It is a very broad definition though and that doesn't include every single student (no matter what age) in higher education in the country. It is just a study of a small percent of students in higher education.

Mind you, my argument may not be bullet proof and I know it has its fallacies but I am just making my opinion known.

Now I am done being serious for the most part.

Well, the weekend is almost over but not completely. There still is tomorrow but right now, I need to work on some homework or else all I will be doing tomorrow is homework. We wouldn't want that would we?

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage