set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

The one with Anna Karenina and taking risks...

[2007-05-15] @ [10:58 p.m.]

I love Tolstoy's Anna Karenina. I practically absorbed myself this past year within the text.

Well, I had trouble falling alseep last night so I pulled out my copy and read my favorite chapter. Where Anna is on the train returning from Moscow back to St. Petersburg. The chapter gives the reader the first real character insight in Anna. During her trip to Moscow, she smoothed over a bump in her brother, Stiva's, marriage and meet her sister-in-law's suitor, Count Vronsky twice. Their last meeting was at the ball and Anna herself felt special because someone was showing geniune interest in her as a person (Count Vronsky). On the ride home, she tries to dismiss the thoughts of infatuation she has as nothing but still, it causes her to feel special and warm on the inside, no matter how hard she tries to forget it.

I often find myself relating my life to books or movie. I feel kind of like a modernists at that point because they often idealized the past and thought of art as a way of life but that is just literary theory. So why am I rambling on about Anna Karenina?

I feel giddy. Like a giddy school girl. I took the second job at the pub and I go in Thrusday evening for some training. And I was at Barnes and Noble this evening waiting for Jessica to show up and I had a guy approach me and he didn't creepy me out. I actually had a good feeling about it so I gave in and agreed to meet him for coffee tomorrow night. I know it is strange...well, it feels strange for me (considering this rarely happens) but I feel good. It never hurts, right?

I'm going to try to ignore most of my worst case sceaniors, self doubt, and second guessing. Let's see where this leads to.

I need to get out and live a bit.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage