set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

The tortise beat the hare!

[2007-11-19] @ [11:26 p.m.]

I'm tired and feel like my eyes are about to fall out. I got up way too early to work on homework and want to go to bed early so I can wake up early again. Somewhere around five hopefully. Yeah. I can't stay up anymore unless there's a lot of caffeine.

Last week, I spent a majority of my time working and revising my argument for my giant/medium World Lit paper I have due on December 11. It concerns skaz, Gogol, The Overcoat, Bulgakov, and Heart of a Dog. The thesis was never really quite right. It was arguable but it wasn't concise enough. I kept rewording, readjusting, and changing it all last week.

This weekend, I spent a majority of my weekend attempting to focus the thesis even more by proving it. Thus comes in the outline. I spent an unsuccessful Saturday going through research, trying to pull bits and pieces to try and work in my presentation as well as due my annotated bibliography that I have due Tuesday too. Go to Sunday where I attempted to begin my outline between the two books, working even more meticulous than usual because I don't have my paper written yet. (There was no way in hell I could write my paper last week with the presentation and everything else on it).

I barely got anything noteworthy done on the outline and didn't get a majority done till this afternoon. I went to see my professor and learned that I only really need to focus on the one book we read for class just because the others won't be familiar with the other book I've chosen. Kind of takes a load off but not really. I am having the worse time trying to connect everything and make a cohesive argument.

I may be ready for winter break, but at this point, I still crave the familiar, comforting troubling toils of analyzing literature than to waiting at night on chaotic, indecisive people.

Wow. This thing really has fried my brain. I still love literature!

I can all ready feel this presentation is going to be a B if I'm lucky. I see so many flaws and fallacies in my argument that I don't know how to fix and it worries me. Yet despite the uncertainties I have, this isn't the first time I've been there, and because of that, I know I'll get through this somehow.

Right now, I just want to sleep.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage