set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Release the inner geek of squeeing.

[2008-04-05] @ [5:05 p.m.]

music Nightwish - Elvenpath

Last night was a squeefest that the ages will continue to talk about. Yes. The final season of Battlestar Galactica premiered finally, after over a year of waiting, and was worth waiting for oh so much. Geeky goodness all over. Plenty of "ohmygodsthereisstarbuck" or "frakking toasters" or the personal favorite "frak!!!!!!!!" I heart Battlestar Galactica very much. It seems to be getting dark and more twisted with each episode. Squee!

Okay, I think I am in control of my inner fan girl. I am very much a geek and fan girl at heart, especially after certain fandoms like Lord of the Rings and Battlestar Galactica. That aside, things have been tough this past week but ended up pretty good in the end. I got to go to this uberly cool presentation by this author, Barry Strauss, on did the Trojan war really happen. Recently, I've rediscovered my love for classics and the inner geek is very happy.

I have no problem calling myself a geek. Culturally, I think the label has grown over this past decade from the stereotypical 1950's geek that is shown in movies. Let's examine this for a moment, I love literature, especially Russian lit and science-fiction and fantasy. I love computers, well love-hate really. I love fandom. I love history and old stuff. Geeky goodness.

So, I haven't updated since last week. Nothing really has been going on. It has been quiet for the first time since this semester started, but all this will change. I've avoided carrying around my planner for the past few days because I really did not have a need for it. I took an hour Thursday night to fill out all the important dates that I have coming up. It was a lot. Might as well surgically attach it to my left hand over the coming weeks.

Other than that, really haven't much to say. I have homework to do. Bah. Anyways. Till then. So it goes.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage