set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

I think I just saw a giraffe cross the street outside there.

[2008-05-30] @ [1:26 a.m.]

music Muse - Hysteria

I'm sipping my almost entirely melted suicide Slurpee that is a mix of this Full Throttle Frozen Blast and Mountain Dew Flavors. Both have caffeine. I got home at fifteen after eleven from a friend's house after watching a movie with her.

I have a job that I start training for next week, I have another possible job in the makings, making a partial possibility of two total jobs. I'll be working days, not nights like I was last summer. Driving home tonight though reminds me how much I love it when it gets dark.

Don't get me wrong. I love sleep. I have difficulty staying up late unless there is guarana or caffeine involved. I am just not the type of person to stay up late all the time. I can get up at ungodly early hours but I usually can't stay up incredibly late.

When I worked though last summer in the evening in one of the things that I loved was that I got to drive at night. I loved driving when no one else was on the road when the air was warm and I can turn up my radio/MP3 player with whatever have playing loudly, usually something heavy. I love stopping at places that are open 24 hours late at night/early in the morning. When I still lived on campus, when I had trouble sleeping or was up late, I loved walking the campus during the winter (or anytime, but especially during the colder months) at two in the morning. I would find a seat along a bench near the fountain or my favorite tree to climb. More than once I have walked along the campus, found other friends at three in the morning. Some smoke so I would sit outside on the cold benches or mini brick walls with them, talking about nonsensical things.

With the apartment, I walk around the neighborhood sometimes. I don't do it as often in the apartment. I miss it, I admit. Of course, many friends live elsewhere off campus or on campus. At home, well, I actually do live in the middle of nowhere. It is cool though sitting on the deck listening to the frogs doing their thing or the owls.

At the wee hours, the creativity seems to flow. There is nothing on tv but trash and commercials. Nonsense in the other words. I write a lot more when I'm up late, even though nothing really makes sense. Well it does but it is like finding a needle in a hay stack when I reread the stuff written at the wee hours. The ideas are there but it takes some finding.

I'm hoping, when I find myself out in the big bad world with my own place (I want my own place!) I will be able to do the same thing...wandering around town in the wee hours. Everything just seems to be different. There is a flash game called "6 Differences" that I think captures the surreal feeling about going to places in the wee hours of the night. If not, the game itself is a visual treat.

Ha. This entry is beginning to drift off to nowhere so I'm going to bed. At least I get to sleep in tomorrow. Or today rather. Either way. It is time to sleep. Till then. So it goes.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage