set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Why is seven afraid of nine?

[2008-06-26] @ [10:37 p.m.]

music Apocalyptica - Ion

Memory is a funny thing. The things we learned in third grade seem irrelevant to us, say at twenty nearing twenty one, like learning to multiply fractions and decimals without a calculator. Ha. Who needs to remember that stuff when we have a machine to do it for us?

I have about a month to study for my GREs and how I do spectacular on them. I downloaded these practice books off the web site of the company who does the tests. I'm paying particular close attention to the math section. This stuff has simple arithmetic, algebra, and geometry on it I learned through out public school. The thing is though, I think I tried intentionally purge all that information and the memories to go along with it. Math has never been my thing. I've always struggled with math, ever since I was kid. Hence another reason why I became an English major. No math involved except for balancing my own check book, which I can do. Most of the time.

My head isn't in numbers.

So looking over this stuff, with out the magic machine that gives me number when I press buttons is difficult. I understand the simple concepts behind it, like the rules to follow and what not. My trouble lays in the actual practice of these rules. I make simple mistakes that I should catch or do a miscalculation in my head. It sucks. It makes me feel like I'm seven again, frustrated and throwing a fit at the kitchen table while my dad tries to help to me with my second grade addition table. It never sunk in or I got so upset, it wouldn't sink in just because I couldn't understand it.

But it is thirteen years late (or should I say fourteen because my birthday is in two months), and I think I've matured some. I can write ten page papers within a day and turn them in for a decent grade. If I want something enough, I will work to get it. Why should this be any different?

While I laid on the couch today, trying to catch a nap because I felt like sick, my mind wouldn't shut up. I graduate in less than a year and this test is a pretty major factor in the grad school process. I don't know why I was worrying this afternoon. Maybe the realization? I'll be honest; aside from planning to go to grad school, I don't know what I want to do with my degree aside from my desire of teaching literature at a higher level. I don't know what I could do to find a job. Maybe I could do something in public relations? I know I would enjoy that. But I wouldn't know where to begin looking and I don't want to work minium wage jobs forever.

I digress. The world isn't ending. I just really need to stay on top of this GRE thing. I need to study at least an hour a night and start relearning refreshing myself with the finer points of the Italian language. I haven't taken it in over a year. I can still read it, but other areas have degraded in quality. If I'm serious about this grad school thing (and I am because I really do want to do this), I need to hit the books again soon.

On an off note FIGC, Federazione Italiana Giuoco Calcio, released Roberto Donadoni as head coach for the Italian squad and is bringing back Marcelo Lippi to coach after he retired winning the 2006 World Cup for Italy�s fourth title. For some reason, this tickled me pink because of the irony. Donadoni wasn't bad in my opinion, just inexperienced. Maybe Lippi can get gli azzurri back on track and they might win a fifth title in 2010? Just a random thought.

Wow. A brief rant turned into an actual entry. Go me.

Till then.

Cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage