set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Word to the English majors.

[2009-05-18] @ [9:32 p.m.]

I suppose a post in due order since everything at the present moments feels surreal. Yet again. As it did when I got my high school diploma four years ago, but more so with my bachelor degree.

Yep. I have my bachelor degree and I offically graduated yesterday with my parents and grandparents watching in a stuffy, hot field house because it was pouring all day yesterday and half the day today.

But after four years, I did it. Albeit, I was slightly disappointed that my degree said Kelly-- Bachelor of Arts. I would have like it to say I did it in English, because I am extremely proud of it. It's funny thought because the English language is thought to be extremely difficult. You can see it when you learn a foregin language and you're forced to think about translations (at least in Greek). It made my brain bleed. Even then, English is like a mix up of every other language. I think it was James Nicoll who said, "The problem with defending the purity of the English language is that English is about as pure as a cribhouse whore. We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary."

Anyways, I spent a majority of today going through my clothes and trying to make everything fit. Tomorrow is notebooks and knick-knacks and seeing what I can keep and what I can't. I am considering taking it slightly easy tomorrow.

But I still have a bachelor's degree now, and that is something to be happy about.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage