set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Beware of ice.

[2010-01-31] @ [9:26 p.m.]

music Leaves' Eyes - Viking's Word

I slammed the right side of my head into a door this afternoon and because of it, my right temple is tender to the touch. I think I might even get a bruise, albeit it small. But after the battle with my pantry door, I was victorious and managed to shut it.

If I value my car not losing its long life at the hands of my inexperienced winter driving, I'll take the bus. The roads were plowed but my apartment complex is slushy and ripe for icy conditions tomorrow morning when I leave. The same goes for the roads; while plowed, the roads are still slushy. The snow hasn't melted enough for my comfort level. I hope one more day of melting might will be enough for me to drive to work early Tuesday and then to classes.

So, I am going to ride the bus tomorrow instead of driving. I'm pretty sure the last paragraph implied that. It's my first real bout with public transportation since I was visiting my grandparents in Washington D.C. when I was twelve.

Public transportation, to me, seems like a rarity, much like snow was a few months ago. The roads have melted enough that I could drive but I really don't want to risk my car. I lack the proper car tires and experience in case I lost control of the car.

So, bus it is.

I'm traveling light with my messenger back and leaving my Dell mini at home. It's less I have to carry, and in case if I'm walking a lot, easier to carry. And with the walking comes the proper shoes, or boots in my case. I'm not risking losing my toes in the cold or wet snow, my rarely worn boots for tomorrow. Best be prepared rather than have my shoes soaked and ruined.

I feel like I keep justifying taking the bus, wearing boots, and looking funny. All because I don't want to take the chance of wrecking my car. I worry over nothing too often.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage