set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Talking to the air.

[2009-04-07] @ [8:20 p.m.]

music Stream of Passion - Embrace the Storm

I'll start by saying that my roommmate's going to be 23 in October, but she acts like a small child, so it's hard to really remember who is the adult. Yes, there was a moment with the internet working tonight, but disaster was adverted. (See here for further explanation).

But today wasn't bad. After surviving Saturday through Monday, I'm taking tonight relatively easy by just trying to work on my government journal. I'll go to bed early, wake up early tomorrow (by sleeping into 6:30!) and going back to work on stuff (Greek and my readings come to mind).

I need to revise papers. I'm stating this as a fact and not complaining. For the record. I got back a paper in Epic, a simple three pager. I have the chance to make up the grade if I don't like what I got the first time, and I get my professor's feedback. I got a 72. Honestly, I was expecting because it was more of a first draft anyways and I wanted his feedback to know what he was looking for. And this is also my Greek professor, so he knows me somewhat well and that I am going to grad school. He actually wrote, 'Work on clear expression. Your sentence cannot be ungrammatical in grad. school, so I'll hold you to that level here.' Damn, Dr. B. I am not complaining but I actually see it as a challenge.

But my long Joyce paper on Ulysses made me cry a little each sentence I wrote. I started reading over my rough draft this afternoon while sitting some friends. God, there's so much work to be done. At least I've learned that I need tons of revisions before I am even near calling a work complete. It cost me a D- on my senior sem, but lessons are worth a lifetime, right?

Speaking of Joyce, I can't believe I emailed my professor to see if there is possibility of taking one of my papers I wrote for class to the little undergrad presentation thing that I've done for the past two years. It's on Stephen Dedalus and Portrait of an Artist as a Young ManIt's spurn of the moment and while nothing is set yet, I still can't believe I am making the first steps of effort because I told myself I wouldn't do it this year and take it easy. But I want to go out with a bang instead of a whisper, make this last semester worth while.

Even though I am kind of stressed out with everything is going on, I still don't doubt my choice to major in English. It may not be a practical major (i.e. business and science) but it is still useful. Besides, it is what I love. I am very excited to have the chance to attempt a masters degree in the thing I love in the fall. Even though I'll probably have a tougher time finding a job than others, I won't regret studying the thing I love.

But anyways, I'm tired. I'm going to do a bit more homework before nodding off a bit later to fall asleep.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage