set me free

current | archives | profile | mail | notes | extras | brains | random | host

Viral.

[2010-02-21] @ [10:26 p.m.]

No amount of green tea can make this edgy aderenline rush go away after a having a close call. And I don't mean for me, I mean for Minime, my netbook.

I've said this before, way back in 2004. Technology. Bane of existence. I've been saying it since I was sixteen and I'll continue to say it as I rave on about how this day and age can't live without computers (as much as I do enjoy

I needed to turn on my netbook this evening for some last minute details on a project for tomorrow. Well, I logged into my account and got a warning about my personal setting being out of place. What the hell? I ignored it think it was nothing and continued to load Windows. Well, some stranger dialogue books popped up explaining that my setting for programs like Internet Explorer were being configured. Um? Then I noticed my wallpaper was not my wallpaper. I have this blue tinted image of a Budapest street at night usually but I saw this cheesy galactic space image. Okay, something is definitely not right here. Well, my programs were there but all my personal setting were vanished and my documents and pictures buried under at thousand folder in my C:/ drive. What just happened?

I still have no idea but it took about an hour and a half of my life, a call to mom, and two system restores to regress back two weeks in time, but at least it works. It deleted my iTunes but I really don't care because I had it setup to where it was just copy of my library. The only thing I lose is an authorization to play the music I bought but no major loss there.

I have no idea what cause it. Mom believes it was a virus. I'll take her word for it because the closest I can come for an explanation is a corrupted profile aside the virus explanation.

Also on the plus side, the materials for my presentation tomorrow are unharmed so, another plus. Let's hope this week continues to on in a positive note and the little computer incident was just that: an incident.

Till then, cheers.


So, quick thanks for the image from confusedvision, under the Creative Commons License 2.0. The inspiration came from Lacuna Coil, an awesome gothic metal band from Italy. This place on the web is fueled by diaryland, firefox, psp 9, caffeine in any form, books, slavic literature, and random bursts of ideas. With the exception of the image and lyrics, the design and code involved is mine. Graize.

kelly's currently-reading book montage